The Faith of America’s Founders…

2 Chron. 7:14a “If my people…”

Founding Faith!

In this difficult time for our country it does us well to remember and build on the faith of our
founding fathers! Note how they were not afraid to reference Jesus as their source of strength!!
How about us? When is the last time we gave credit to Jesus for something in our lives and the
unsaved world heard us?

The Faith of America’s Founders

George Washington, father of our country, first president of the United States said;

“Bless O Lord the whole race of mankind, and let the world be filled with knowledge of Thee and Thy Son, Jesus Christ.” “It is impossible to rightly govern the world without God and the Bible.” “Of all the habits which lead to political prosperity, religion and morality are indispensable supports. . . . Reason and experience both forbid us to expect that national morality can prevail in exclusion of religious principle.” (From his farewell speech, 1796).

Patrick Henry, American Revolutionary leader:
“It cannot be emphasized too strongly or too often that this great nation was founded, not by
religionists, but by Christians: not on religions, but on the gospel of Jesus Christ.”

Thomas Jefferson, third president of the United States:

“God who gave us life gave us liberty. And can the liberties of a nation be thought secure when
we have removed their only firm basis, a conviction in the minds of the people that these liberties
are a gift from God? That they are not to be violated but with His wrath? Indeed, I tremble for my country when I reflect that God is just, and that His justice cannot sleep forever.”

Benjamin Franklin, At the Constitutional Convention of 1787:
“I have lived long, Sir, and the longer I live, the more convincing proofs I see of this truth – that God governs in the affairs of men. And if a sparrow cannot fall to the ground without His notice, is it probable that an empire can rise without His aid? We have been assured, Sir, in the Sacred Writings, that ‘except the Lord build the house, they labor in vain that build it.’ I firmly believe this, and I also believe that without His concurring aid we shall succeed in this political building no better than the builders of Babel. . . . My views . . . are the result of a life of inquiry and reflection, and very different from the anti-Christian system imputed to me by those who know nothing of my opinions. To the corruption’s of Christianity, I am, indeed, opposed; but not to the genuine precepts of Jesus himself. I am a Christian in the only sense in which He wished anyone to be; sincerely attached to His doctrines in preference to all others.”

Prayer that opened the first Continental Congress in September, 1774:

“My soul shall be joyful in the Lord; it shall rejoice in his salvation.
. . .
Awake and rise to my defense” Contend for me, my God and Lord” (Psalm 35:9, 23)

John Adams, on that prayer;

“Who can realize the emotions with which they turned imploringly to heaven for divine interposition and aid? It was enough . . . to melt a heart of stone. It seemed as if heaven had ordained that Psalm
to be read that day.”

George Washington:

“Direct my thoughts, words and work. Wash away my sins in the immaculate blood of the Lamb, and purge my heart by Thy Holy Spirit. . . Daily frames me more and more into the likeness of Thy Son Jesus Christ.”

Alexander Hamilton, signer of the Constitution:

“I have a tender reliance on the mercy of the Almighty, through the merits of the Lord Jesus Christ. I am a sinner. I look to Him for mercy.”

So, how important is it that I vote on who takes office and on what promise or principles do I base my vote on? Material or moral promises? You decide. That is one of the blessings we have in America. We can decide…..

2 Chron. 7:14 “If my people, which are called by my name, shall humble themselves, and pray, and seek my face, and turn from their wicked ways; then will I hear from heaven, and will forgive their sin, and will heal their land.”

Eph 6:12-13 “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places. 13 Therefore take up the whole armor of God, that you may be able to withstand in the evil day, and having done all, to stand.”

