Flee the Temptation to…

Flee the Temptation to…

There is a war being waged that most people never recognize as a war. It is the war between good and evil and the war will not come to an end until Jesus returns a second time to put an end to sin and satan. Many people do not even see satan as real and that unfortunately is to his advantage. The wonderful truth is that I have read the book (bible) and know the ending. God wins……………..! For us to win the skirmishes or battles that the enemy brings into our lives we must;

 2 Tim. 2:22 “Flee also youthful lusts: but follow righteousness, faith, charity, peace, with them that call on the Lord out of a pure heart.”

An old Navajo who recognized the war going on within was telling his grandson about the fight that goes on inside each of us.

He said it is between two wolves: one called the flesh is evil (anger, envy, sorrow, regret, greed, arrogance, self-pity, guilt, resentment, inferiority, superiority, etc.) and the other called the Spirit is good (joy, peace, love, hope, serenity, humility, kindness, empathy, etc.).

The grandson thought about it and asked, “Which wolf wins?” his simple reply, “The one I feed.”

Gal 5:16 “This I say then, walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh: and these are contrary the one to the other so that you cannot do the things that you would.”

 Romans 7:17-25 “But now, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. For I know that in me (that is, in my flesh) nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find. For the good that I will to do, I do not do; but the evil I will not to do, that I practice. Now if I do what I will not to do, it is no longer I who do it, but sin that dwells in me. I find then a law, that evil is present with me, the one who wills to do good. For I delight in the law of God according to the inward man. But I see another law in my members, warring against the law of my mind, and bringing me into captivity to the law of sin which is in my members. O wretched man that I am! Who will deliver me from this body of death? I thank God–through Jesus Christ our Lord! So then, with the mind I myself serve the law of God, but with the flesh the law of sin.”

 So the question this morning is which one will I feed?

