Black and White TV…

BLACK & WHITE TV

(For the older folks. You youngsters, unfortunately, may not understand.

But pay attention to the 2nd half.)

You could hardly see for all the snow –
spread the rabbit ears as far as they would go,
pull up a chair to the TV set,
hear a “good night, David – good night, Chet.”

Dependin’ on the channel you tuned,
you got Rob and Laura, or Ward and June.
It felt so good, felt so right
life looked better in black and white.

I love Lucy, the real McCoys,
Dennis the menace, the Cleaver boys,
Rawhide, Gunsmoke, Wagon Train,
Superman, Father Knows Best and Lois Lane,
life looked better in black and white.

I wanna go back to black and white, everything always turned out right.
Simple people, simple lives, good guys always won the fights.
Now nothin’s the way it seems
in living color on the screen –
I wanna go back to black and white.

In God they trusted, in their bed they slept –
a promise made was a promise kept.
They never cussed or broke their vows,
they’d never make the networks now.
But if I could I’d rather be in a TV town in ’63.
Life looked better in black and white.

I’d trade all the channels on the Satellite
if I could just turn back the clock tonight
to when most everybody knew wrong from right.
Yes, oh yes, “life was better in black and white.”

It is true that sin existed in black and white TV days also. So for that portion of the poem it is incorrect. But I believe that our country and world have opened themselves up to sin more so in our modern age and the enemy seems to be much busier. The proof is that in the black and white TV days we could pray in school, marriage was between a man and a woman and murder of the child in the womb was murder and so much more. While our world deteriorates before our eyes we can take comfort in;

Mal 3:6a “For I am the Lord, I do not change…”

These are signs that…

John 14:3 “And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come again, and receive you unto myself; that where I am, there ye may be also.”

So, our course of action is not to complain but to…..

 Luke 9:23 “Then He said to them all, “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.”

Philip. 3:14 “I press toward the mark for the prize of the high calling of God in Christ Jesus.”

One final reminder…

I Peter 5:9-11 “Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world. 10 But may the God of all grace, who called us to His eternal glory by Christ Jesus, after you have suffered a while, perfect, establish, strengthen, and settle you. 11 To Him be the glory and the dominion forever and ever. Amen.”

