The Power of Grace…

2 Cor. 12:9 “And he said unto me, My grace is sufficient for thee: for my strength is made perfect in weakness. Most gladly therefore will I rather glory in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

Today there is a movement teaching the “Health, Wealth and Prosperity” doctrine. There are some churches that are preaching that God would have you to be healthy and wealthy. If you are not then it is a faith issue with you. Just come to our church, join in with our emotional message and watch God lift you up emotionally, physically and materially. While we all want those results the health and wealth message fails to show how God develops our spiritual character and the fact that Adversity is very good when sent from God. The following is an excerpt from J Sanders.

II Cor 12:7 “A thorn in the flesh was given to me, a messenger of Satan to buffet me, lest I be exalted above measure.”

The Power of Grace

Dr. J. Oswald Sanders says that Paul first viewed his “thorn” as a limiting handicap; but later, seeing it in true perspective, he regarded it as a heavenly advantage. Our pains and problems are tools reminding us to appropriate God’s all-sufficient grace.
Dr. Prebendary Webb-Peploe, a far-famed British preacher, suffered a great tragedy one day when his child suddenly died while on holiday. Returning from the funeral, Webb-Peploe was so distraught that he knelt in his study for hours, pleading with God to make His grace sufficient to him. Still his heart was comfortless and desolate.
Looking up, the doctor saw the text that had hung for years over his fireplace. One word was printed in large capital letters: “My grace IS sufficient for thee.”
“Lord, forgive me,” cried the father. “I have been asking Thee to make Thy grace sufficient for me, and all the time Thou hast been saying to me, ‘My grace IS sufficient for thee.’ I thank Thee for sufficient grace, and I appropriate it now.”
Whatever your “thorn” today, remember—His grace IS sufficient. It’s available right now.

Our disabilities are blessings in disguise if they cause us to lay hold on God’s sufficient grace.

J. Oswald Sanders

Hebrews 12:11 “Now no chastening for the present seems to be joyous, but grievous: nevertheless afterward it yields the peaceable fruit of righteousness unto them which are exercised thereby.”

