The Spiritual Cold War….

If I told you that there was a war going on you would probably ask me if I read the papers or listen to the TV and radio. Of course there are wars going on all around us. But if I told you there was a war going on that no human can actually see and can have very little affect on the outcome you would then give me a strange look and wonder what planet I am living on.

Well this morning I want to remind myself and you of that very fact. There is an ugly cold war going on that we cannot see and it has eternal consequences.

Ephesians 6:12 “For we do not wrestle against flesh and blood, but against principalities, against powers, against the rulers of the darkness of this age, against spiritual hosts of wickedness in the heavenly places.”

 2 Cor 4:3, 4 “But even if our gospel is veiled, it is veiled to those who are perishing, whose minds the god of this age has blinded, who do not believe, lest the light of the gospel of the glory of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine on them.”

So if those verses are true and the real enemies are satan and self then how does he attack?

I Peter 5:8, 9 “Be sober, be vigilant; because your adversary the devil walks about like a roaring lion, seeking whom he may devour. Resist him, steadfast in the faith, knowing that the same sufferings are experienced by your brotherhood in the world.”

James 4:1, 2a “Where do wars and fights come from among you? Do they not come from your desires for pleasure that war in your members? You lust and do not have. You murder and covet and cannot obtain. You fight and war.”

 If I honestly look around me and within me I quickly realize there is a war going on for my soul. There is a war going on to keep me from serving Jesus. I am ‘born again’ so satan can no longer have my soul but he can keep me from serving Jesus. So how can I fight it?

2 Tim 2:22-26 “Flee also youthful lusts; but pursue righteousness, faith, love, peace with those who call on the Lord out of a pure heart. But avoid foolish and ignorant disputes, knowing that they generate strife. And a servant of the Lord must not quarrel but be gentle to all, able to teach, patient, in humility correcting those who are in opposition, if God perhaps will grant them repentance, so that they may know the truth,  and that they may come to their senses and escape the snare of the devil, having been taken captive by him to do his will.”

 Galatians 5:16, 17 “This I say then, Walk in the Spirit, and you shall not fulfill the lust of the flesh. For the flesh lusts against the Spirit, and the Spirit against the flesh: and these are contrary the one to the other: so that you cannot do the things that you would.”

Put on God’s armor today that is described in Ephesians chapter 5 so you can stand in the midst of this cold war. I stand with Jesus our Lord and Savior and with you fighting the good fight………………..daily!

Luke 9:23 “If anyone desires to come after Me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow Me.”

