Using God’s name….

II Cor 6:17 “Come out from among them and be ye separate, says the Lord,
Do not touch what is unclean, and I will receive you.”

Using God’s name…

God said: It needs to bother you.

I said: What?

The language.

What language?

Case in point. You haven’t even noticed.

I’m not tracking with You. Notice what?

My name’s being taken in vain.

Oh, that. Well God, to be honest with You…
I’ve kind of gotten used to it.

Used to it?

Well, yeah. My environment is filled with conversations echoing Your name. Not only
that, but it’s pretty much a smorgasbord of four-letter options, too.

And that doesn’t affect you?

Nah. Like I said, I’m used to it.

That’s the problem.

Whaddya mean?

I don’t want you to get used to it.

But I hear that stuff all the time. TV’s full of it. Every sitcom I watch tosses Your name around. Can we get personal? Is it really that big of a deal?

Apparently you don’t realize the severity of this.

Gulp.

Every single time someone says, “Oh, my God!” they’re breaking one of My 10 commandments: “Thou shalt not take the name of the Lord Thy God in vain.”

Yeah, but…

Doing something I’ve specifically spoken against is a big deal. Can you see why the only name given to men down through the ages to be used in vain is the name of My Son, the name above all names, and name that all will bow to?

Well…

Using My name in vain is sin!

But not real sin. Right?

Excuse me?

I always thought sin was like…You know…murdering someone or stealing something.

Sin is anything that goes against what I’ve commanded and anytime you know what to do but do not do it.

(James 4:17 “Therefore, to him who knows to do good and does not do it, to him it is sin.”)

But Father, practically everyone says stuff like, “Oh, God.”

Most people are not going to heaven.

(Mat 7:13, 14 “Enter by the narrow gate; for wide is the gate and broad is the way that leads to destruction, and there are many who go in by it. Because narrow is the gate and difficult is the way which leads to life, and there are few who find it.”)

Well, I don’t say it. Well, okay, maybe once…twice max.

But you’ve gotten comfortable with hearing it. That’s just as bad.

Well, I…

My child, I don’t want you to get comfortable living in this world and hearing what goes on around you. You see, this world really isn’t your home. Think of it as sort of a holding tank. Your real home is in heaven with Me. And the splendor of it is beyond your capability of human understanding.

I know, God. And I’m looking forward to that.

If you love Me, you will turn from your sin. And using My name in such a disrespectful manner is sin. And you will be salt is a world that needs to know sin is sin.

Wow. I didn’t realize.

You can’t help living in this world I’ve placed you in. But you can choose not to be a part of it.

How do I do that?

By refusing to get comfortable.

Yes.

I realize there are things you can’t help but hear, but that doesn’t mean you should become accustomed to hearing them. I want your stomach to bunch up in knots when you hear My name used in the wrong way. I want you to feel uncomfortable when people around you share coarse jokes and brag about their sexual escapades. I want you to turn around and walk away when you hear or see sin. Or I want you to in a loving fashion call sin for what it is. I want you to change the channel when the programming is of this world. You are being subtlety programmed to accept sin as normal by the enemy. Do not let it happen. Be the salt of the earth for My sake.

That will take a conscious effort, Father.

Yes.

But, do You think if I could get into the habit of doing it, it would become almost as natural as breathing?

You’re catching on.

It will be hard.

You won’t be alone.

(Hebrews 13:5b “For He Himself has said, “I will never leave you nor forsake you”)

People will probably laugh at me when I refuse to listen to their suggestive conversations.

I will respect you.

It would be easier if I had an example.

Amen.

You know, someone else who has already taken a stand.
Study My Son’s life.

Oh yeah!

And read Hebrew chapter 11. It’s FULL of people who took a stand.

Yeah, but some of them were killed for their beliefs.

That’s what Christianity’s all about.

Dying?

Yes.

Dying?

Yes. My true disciples are the ones who have died to living their own lives. They’ve given up control. They’ve become putty in My hands, and they’re letting Me reshape and remold them in My image.

And I guess that’s what You want me to do?

I want you to not be ashamed when you spend eternity with Me in heaven, and I need you to die to your own selfish habits, your coarse language, your plans for the future, your selfishness–even to your rights.

But, God…

And guess what?

What?

When you do…You’ll start to become very uncomfortable with the world around you. And that is good…………….

———author unknown

Galatians 2:20″I have been crucified with Christ; and I myself no longer live, but Christ lives in me.”

John 14: 1-3 “Do not let your hearts be troubled. Trust in God; trust also in me. In my Father’s house are many rooms; if it were not so, I would have told you. I am going there to prepare a place for you. And if I go and prepare a place for you, I will come back and take you to be with me that you also may be where I am.”

