The Blame Game

The Blame Game…..

What is the first thing people young and old do when caught in the act of sin? Pass the blame to someone or something else of course. Blaming society, family, friends, anyone and anything other than me for my sins is not a new thing. Listen to who Adam and Eve sought to blame when they were confronted with their sin.

Gen 3:11-13 “And He said, ‘Who told you that you were naked? Have you eaten from the tree of which I commanded that you should not eat? Then the man said, ‘The woman whom you gave to be with me, she gave me of the tree and I ate. And the Lord God said to the woman, ‘What is this you have done?’ And the woman said, ‘The serpent deceived me, and I ate.”

The most ability is responsibility. Nothing happens until someone steps forward and says, “I am responsible for my actions.”
_____

The celebrated historian Barbara Tuchman called our times, “The Age of Disruption, a period when we’ve lost belief in certain kinds of moral understanding of good and bad.” A reporter for The Indianapolis Star once asked the two-time Pulitzer Prize winner what she thought was most needed in the next century.

“Probably personal responsibility,” she replied, explaining that this means “taking responsibility for your behavior and your expenditures and your actions, and not forever supposing that society must forgive you because it’s not your fault.”

We may try to hide our sins on this earth, but we will be personally accountable regardless of who we attempt to blame.

Romans 14:12 “So then each of us shall give account of himself to God.”

So the next time you sin step up and confess.

1 John 1:9 “If we confess our sins, he is faithful and just to forgive us our sins, and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness

