Real Love….

Heb 12:2a “Looking unto Jesus the author and finisher of our faith…”

Real Love….

“I love you”, he whispered as we sat in the night.
His arms closed around me so warm and so tight.

“I love you, but I know that others will call.
Still, please know I’ll be there to catch every fall.

The others may wound you, life’s lesson you’ll learn.
Don’t worry, I’ll be right here when you return.

Some moments, you’ll hurt me with anger and hate but I’ll never leave
you, you’re well worth the wait”

And though I denied that we ever would part, new loves flirted
playfully, winning my heart.

But the few nights of pleasure just lasted till dawn.
Then each, like the others, was suddenly gone.

“I love you” a voice whispered out of the cold.
“My hand is still here for you, ready to hold.

If nothing more from you than love do I gain.
I’ll still wait forever. You’re well worth the pain.”

I wanted to care; let him into my heart.
My life felt so empty when we were apart.

But I longed for adventure, excitement, and thrill.
The few needs that His perfect love couldn’t fill.

“I love you”, he said as he raised up his hands.
“But you’ll never be with me the way that it stands.

So bring on the nails and I’ll suffer the loss.
If it means I can hold you, it’s well worth the cross.”

–Carolyn Holmes

Heb 12:2 “Looking unto Jesus the author and perfecter of our faith,
Who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross, despising
the shame and has sat down at the right hand of the throne of God”

