Do I have a Spiritual Gift

If you are not a ‘born again’ believer who has done some studying of Spiritual Gifts in the scriptures this morning’s encouragement and/or challenge will be foreign to you. Actually many believers are not aware of what our Savior says about the spiritual gifts we have been entrusted with and directed to use to lift up His name. Please read on and see how the Holy Spirit challenges you.

I Cor 12:1 “…now concerning Spiritual Gifts, brethren, I do not want you to be ignorant.”

Do I have a Spiritual Gift

Everyone loves a free gift. Jesus is the ultimate free gift. With His gift of salvation He has asked each believer to serve Him and His Church. The Church contains all those in this world who are trusting in Jesus alone for their salvation.  Did you know there are no denominations mentioned in scripture?

On the topics of Spiritual Gifts Jesus gave His Church (the people) Spiritual Gifts to perform service for His glory. We do not have to walk in our own strength and wisdom which is great.  If I were attempting to serve by my strength I can assure you I would fall flat on my face. We receive that supernatural desire and Gift(s) when we are ‘born again’.  After presenting ourselves to service Jesus (Romans 12:1,2) we can then look for how God will show us what our gift(s) are and how they are to be used.

Keep in mind that at salvation you are a baby in Christ or an immature person spiritually.  Use of my Spiritual Gifts will require my commitment to use them. After committing to use them then the Holy Spirit can work to develop them in my life.  Like salvation we are never forced into using them. But it is extremely important to know that Jesus commands and desires that we do so and that it is for His glory and not ours and that no minimum level of education is required to use them.

While these Gifts may run parallel to our earthly developed skills they frequently do not. I fall into that category. My gifts did not match my earthly skills which were not many. After many years serving Jesus I am very happy they did not. I was then and remain required to place more faith in His power versus my expertise.  I once tried using one of my spiritual gifts in my own power and I fell flat on my face. The important lesson I was being taught is that as Philippians 4:13 says, “I can do all through Christ who, strengthens me”.  It is never by my strength, ability or any natural or developed talent. God’s grace is sufficient for our salvation and for our service for the King. So remember when you cannot do it and you know God is asking you to, that is a great place to be in your life because you are totally dependent on Him for any success.

I Cor 12:9 “And He said unto me, My grace is sufficient for you, for My strength is made perfect in weakness, most gladly therefore will I glory in my infirmities that the power of Christ may rest upon me.”

Every born again believer has at least one Spiritual Gift and its purpose is to be used in the fashion Jesus intended and of course with the right attitude and motive. The only good motive for serving is because Jesus asked you to do so. You are then doing it for His glory and not yours or your family or churches.

Eph 4:7, 8 “But to each one of us (believers) grace was given according to the measure of Christ’s’ gift. Therefore He says, ‘When He ascended on high, He led captivity captive, and gave gifts to men.”

Have you used your gift yet???

We may serve because a leader in the Church or family member encourages or challenged us to do so but if it is not for Jesus it will not last. I remember an elderly believer once telling me that if you wait 2 to 3 years you will find out what a servants commitment really is. His point being that if it is not for Christ they most likely will no longer be in that ministry after 2 to 3 years.

It is OK to try out different ministries to see where Jesus wants you to serve and leave those He did not intend for you. But when you find the one He intended for you then stay the course, for His glory. Yes, even when those you are serving with fall away. Remember Who you are serving. That will sustain you.

The purpose for these gifts;

Eph 4:16 “…from whom the whole body (Worldwide Church), joined and knit together by what every joint supplies, according to the effective working by which every part (person) does its share, causes growth of the body for the edifying of itself in love.”

If you are not sure of your Gift(s) the place to start is on your knees requesting wisdom and then of course, search the scriptures daily.  Below is a listing of the spiritual gifts and some help in understanding your Gift(s) to help you in your quest to obey Jesus.

Start searching the scriptures today asking the Holy Spirit to reveal to you just where and how you are to serve Jesus. The following are some scripture passages defining what the Spiritual Gifts are;

WHERE FOUND: Romans 12:6-8, Eph 4:11, I Peter 4:11, I Cor 12:6-10, I Cor 12:28- 30

GIFTS
PASTOR TEACHER
TEACHING
HELPS (SERVING, MINISTERING)
ADMINISTRATION/LEADING
EVANGELISM
EXHORTATION
FAITH
GIVING
MERCY
APOSTLE
PROPHECY
MIRACLES
HEALING
TONGUES
INTERPRETATION OF TONGUES
DISCERNING OF SPIRITS
WORD OF KNOWLEDGE
WORD OF WISDOM

 

  • ASK NOT WHAT YOUR CHURCH CAN DO FOR YOU BUT ASK WHAT YOU CAN DO FOR JESUS CHURCH
