If Noah lived in the USA Today….

Gen 6:5, 6 “Then the Lord saw that the wickedness of man was great in the earth, and that every intent of the thoughts of his heart was only evil continually. And the Lord was sorry that He had made man on the earth, and He grieved in His heart.”
IF NOAH LIVED IN THE UNITED STATES TODAY…… Some humor and truth for your day

And the Lord spoke to Noah and said, “In one year, I am going to make it rain and cover the whole earth with water until all flesh is destroyed. But I want you to save the righteous people and two of every kind of living thing on the earth.  Therefore, I am commanding you to build an Ark.”

In a flash of lightening, God delivered the specifications for an Ark. In obedience, Noah took the plans and agreed to build the Ark. “Remember” said the Lord, “You must complete the Ark and bring everything aboard in one year.

Exactly one year later, fierce storm clouds covered the earth and all the seas of the earth went into a tumult.  The Lord saw that Noah was sitting in his front yard weeping. “Noah,” He shouted.  “Where is the Ark?”

“Lord, please forgive me!” cried Noah. “I did! my best, but there were big problems.

  1. I had to get a permit for construction.
  2. The plans did not comply with the codes.
  3. I had to hire an engineering firm and redraw the plans.
  4. Then I got into a fight with OSHA over whether or not the Ark needed a fire sprinkler system and flotation devices.
  5. Then my neighbor objected, claiming I was violating zoning ordinances by building the Ark in my yard,
  6. So I had to get a variance from the city planning commission.
  7. I had problems getting enough wood for the Ark, because there was a ban on cutting trees to protect the Spotted Owl. I finally convinced the U.S. Forest Service that I needed the wood to save the owls.
  8. However, the Fish and Wildlife Service won’t let me catch any owls. So, no owls.
  9. The carpenters formed a union formed a picket line around our home.  I had to negotiate a settlement with the National Labor Relations Board before anyone would pick up a saw or a hammer.  Now I have 16 carpenters on the Ark, but still no owls.
  10. When I started rounding up the other animals, I got sued by an animal rights group.  They objected to me only taking two of each kind aboard.
  11. Just when I got the suit dismissed, the EPA notified me that I could not complete the Ark without filing an environmental impact statement on the proposed flood.  They didn’t take very kindly to the idea that they had no jurisdiction over the conduct of the Creator of the universe.
  12. Then the Army Corp of Engineers demanded a map of the proposed new flood
    plain.  I sent them a globe.
  13. Right now, I am trying to resolve a complaint filed with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commission that I am practicing discrimination by not taking Godless, unbelieving people aboard!
  14. The IRS has seized my assets, claiming that I’m building the Ark in preparation to flee the country to avoid paying taxes.  I just got a notice from the state that I owe them some kind of user tax as I failed to register the Ark as a “recreational watercraft.”
  15. Finally, the ACLU got the courts to issue an injunction against further construction of the Ark, saying that since God is flooding the earth, it is a religious event and therefore unconstitutional. I really don’t think I can finish the Ark for another 5 or 6 years!” Noah wailed.

The sky began to clear, the sun began to shine and the seas began to calm.   A rainbow arched across the sky.  Noah looked up hopefully. “You mean you are not going to destroy the earth Lord?”
“No,” said the Lord sadly.  “I don’t have to. The government already has.

That is the humorous side. Remember a sad note. Remember of course that

God is sovereign over all governments so His control is the one absolute we can count on for our lives and even for a modern day Noah. All except Noah’s
family died because of their rejection of God at that time. I wonder how close our world’s view of God is today to that same rejection?  And more of a challenge is, how does my view of God stack up. Is He #1 in my life or #???????
Hebrews 11:6 “But without faith it is impossible to please him: for he that cometh to God must believe that he is, and that he is a rewarder of them that diligently seek him.   

Gen 6:22 & 7:1 “Thus Noah did; according to all God commanded him,
so he did. Then the Lord said to Noah, ‘Come into the ark, you and all
your household, because I have seen that you are righteous before Me
in this generation.”

