The Effects of my Sin on Future Generations…

The Effects of Sin from Generation to Generation

Our lives will affect our children, our children’s children and our
children’s, children’s, children.

Deut 5:7&9 “You shall have no other gods before Me. You shall not bow
down to them nor serve them. For I, the Lord your God, am a jealous God,
visiting the iniquity of the fathers upon the third and fourth generations.”

Example from scripture = David, his son Solomon and his son Rehoboam.

David committed adultery with Bathsheba and murdered her husband Uriah
to try and cover up his sins. David confessed his sins and God forgave
him but his ancestors and David reaped what he had sown.

Solomon’s’ sin of lust went unconfessed. Solomon took wives from the
nations our Lord commanded he not do so from.

I Kings 11-14a “So the Lord said to Solomon, because you have done
this, and you have not kept My covenant and My statutes, which I have
commanded you, I will surely tear the kingdom from you and give it to
your servant. Nevertheless I will not do it in your days for the sake of
your father David, but I will tear it out of the hand of your son.
However, I will not tear away all the kingdom, but I will give one tribe
to your son for the sake of your father David and for the sake of
Jerusalem which I have chosen. Then the Lord raised up an adversary to
Solomon…”

Rehoboam, Solomon’s son committed similar sins as his father and his
fathers’ father but with increased magnitude. The judgment severity
also increased.

I Kings 14:21 “Now Rehoboam the son of Solomon reigned in Judah…”

I Kings 14:22 “Judah did evil in the sight of the Lord, and they
provoked Him to jealousy MORE than all that their fathers had done, with the sins which they committed.”

So much for the thought that I am only affecting me……………
What will our children reap from our lives?????????????

Of course, there is a way to keep from the same. Check it out….

Heb 12:1, 2, I John 1:9, Rom 12:1, 2….

Mat 6:33a “But seek you first the king of God and its righteousness…”

