Anger or a Soft Answer – You Choose…

Anger or a Soft Answer!

Our first reaction when we are wronged is to strike back. That reaction is from the flesh and seems to feel good but actually is very destructive to us. God provides a different approach. It does not feel right to our flesh but remember that God’s ways and thoughts are not our ways and thoughts (Isa 55:8). Our minds in their sinful condition are not able to think and respond like God would have us to do. So when the response or answer that I think is appropriate but I recognize that God would have me to do something different, I then have a choice to make.

When I am wronged how I would handle it differs dramatically from how God would have me respond to it. It comes down to placing our trust or faith in what God directs. We need not agree nor understand, just obey. If you are saved you now have the Spirit of God actually indwelling in you which is the only way you can fight the urge to strike.

A tough concept to follow but from experience I know it works!!!

Proverbs 15:1, 2 “A soft answer turns away wrath, but a harsh word stirs up anger. The tongue of the wise uses knowledge rightly, but the mouth of the fool pours forth foolishness.”

Psa 141:3 “Set a watch, O Lord, before my mouth; keep the door of my lips.”

Prov 21:23 “He who guards his mouth and his tongue keeps himself from calamity”

To be able to present a soft answer you will need to be a good listener and most importantly you will not be looking to have it your way. There is but one way that counts;

Matthew 6:33 “But seek ye first the kingdom of God, and its righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

 Danger: DO NOT DEPEND ON YOUR OWN HUMAN OR FLESHLY DIRECTIVES…..

 Proverbs 14:12 There is a way which seemeth right unto a man; But the end thereof are the ways of death.”

