Is sin for real…..

Is sin for real….

It’s a big mistake to think that you can control sin in your life or worse yet, to think there is none. I know it is word that is very seldom used by this age we live in, but it has not lost its relevancy with God. The enemy has convinced most that it is a concept of a past age and not for the days we live in. Be very careful….one of the wonderful things about our God and His scriptures is that they do not change down through the ages. We can count on what we read in scripture to be as true today as it was when it was first given to us by God, its Author.

Malachi 3:6a “For I, Jehovah, change not; ….”

For many in America if you have the right kind of home, vehicle and stuff than that is what life if all about. Sin that breaks fellowship with a loving God is generally not a part of the equation. If God’s word is relevant for today, and it is, then what does it say? The Holy Spirit using Paul’s life sums it up nicely…..

Rom 7:15-18 “For what I am doing I do not understand. For what I will to do, that I do not practice, but what I hate, that I do. If then, I do what I will not to do, I agree with the law … But now, it is no longer I who does it, but sin that dwells in me. For I know that in me nothing good dwells; for to will is present with me, but how to perform what is good I do not find.”

Everyone is accountable for his or her sin. Blame cannot be placed on any person, place or situation so we escape its consequences.

Rom 14:12 “So then each one of us shall give account of himself to God.”

Rom 3:23 “For all have sinned and come short of the Glory of God.”

Rom 3:10 “As it is written, There is none righteous, no, not one:”

Rom 6:23a “For the wages of sin is death…”

That’s the bad news. So, how do I control sin? Now for the good news.

Rom 7:24-25 “O wretched man that I am! who shall deliver me from the body of this death? I thank God through Jesus Christ our Lord. So then with the mind I myself serve the law of God; but with the flesh the law of sin.”

I John 1:9 “If we confess our sins He is faithful and just to forgive us our sins and to cleanse us from all unrighteousness.”

So, Who do I confess my sins to?

1 Tim. 2:5 “For there is one God, and one mediator between God and men, the man Christ Jesus;”

Check out your life this morning and seek forgiveness when needed.

