A Different Perspective….

A Different Perspective

It is easy to say, ‘ Why Me?’ And it fits so nicely with the world we live in. Our world teaches us that we are special all by ourselves and that we deserve all things we can dream of. We even tell ourselves that; based on our worthiness we should be able to work ourselves into God’s graces by our own merits. Of course that first assumes we recognize that sin has broken the fellowshipping tie with God. After all, the word sin is not one you hear much about. I wonder why? And we think we can do all things by the use of our superior abilities…..or can we? Do you ever wonder where that philosophy comes from?

II Cor 4:3, 4 “But if our gospel be hid, it is hid to them that are lost: In whom the god of this world hath blinded the minds of them which believe not, lest the light of the glorious gospel of Christ, who is the image of God, should shine unto them.”

Eph 6:12 “For we are not fighting against flesh-and-blood enemies, but against evil rulers and authorities of the unseen world, against mighty powers in this dark world, and against evil spirits in the heavenly places.”

While many of the difficulties of my life are the consequences of sin many are not. Difficult times come from a couple of directions. Just to list two, there are the consequences for sin and there are the benefits of trials in our lives bringing spiritual growth. So what if the situation that I am in is actually God’s will for me???? And what if it is actually needed for my life to have meaning for God? Scripture notes that as a ‘born again’ believer my life is not my own. I have a much greater purpose in life. It is to bring glory to the Savior who died so that my sins could be forgiven. I should therefore;

Psalms 46:10 “Be still and know that I am God; I will be exalted among the
nations, I will be exalted in the earth.”

Isa 40:31 “But those who wait on the Lord shall renew their strength, they shall mount up with the wings like eagles, they shall run and not be weary, they shall walk and not faint.”

This morning I want you to feel special but it’s not because of who you are or what your human capabilities are. It is because a loving God sent His only Son to die for the sins we commit. I can be a child of God once I accept His sacrifice for me and that makes me special!!!!!!!!! Then life has real purpose! I know that I am special because Jesus died for me. But it is vital I remember it is His sacrifice and His strengths that make me who I am.

JOHN 3:16 “For God loved the world so much that he gave his one and only Son, so that everyone who believes in him will not perish but have eternal life.”

