Godliness with Contentment is Great Gain…..

Godliness with Contentment is great gain!

It seems like many in our world only have pessimism in their vocabulary. Optimism or better yet the fact that God is sovereign in my life is not in their thought process. They complain about everything from people to gasoline to health to our leaders to ……! And that complaining affects us and how we respond to those around us. We listen and are drawn in when our emotions start to control us. So, how do we react when the entire world around us is complaining and it is hard to be upbeat and content?

Godliness with CONTENTMENT is great gain.

Phil 4:11 “Not that I speak in respect of want; for I have learned that in
whatsoever state I am, therewith to be content.”

Scripture, as with all topics, holds the answer if we are willing to listen. Paul went through a time and event in his life that hurt him so he asked God to remove it. He did so three times. When Paul realized that God’s answer was no he further realized that the ailment was there for a reason and we hear him saying…..

II Cor 12:9, 10 “And He said unto me, ‘My grace is sufficient for you, for MY STRENGTH is made perfect in YOUR WEAKNESS. Therefore most gladly I will rather boast in my infirmities, that the power of Christ may rest upon me. Therefore I take pleasure in my
infirmities, in reproaches, in needs, in persecutions, in distresses, for Christ’s sake. For when I am weak, then I am strong.”

We really need to read that truth again because it says that it is actually a good thing when we accept what God has placed in our lives for His purposes in maturing us. The ‘Why Me’ attitude only hurts or stunts our spiritual growth. The purpose for my life goes much deeper than me and the things that I have!

I Cor. 6:20 “For you are bought with a price: therefore glorify God in your body, and in your spirit, which are God’s.”

Why is it so hard for me to understand that? It is because of my flesh and its’ desire to serve itself only. The options I evaluate to determine why certain issues and ailments come into my life must include many that I left to my own ways would not choose. Why?

Isaiah 55:8 “For my thoughts are not your thoughts, neither are your ways my ways, saith the Lord.”

Matthew 6:33 “But seek you first the kingdom of God, and his righteousness; and all these things shall be added unto you.”

Have a great day serving the King of Kings and Lord of Lords………………….

